Complete list of works


Tell Me The Truth About Love, linking passages (23') as part of a production with Streetwise Opera (2018)

Citizens of Nowhere, chamber opera for two sop, mezzo, oboe/cor anglais, bassoon and cello, 35' (2017)

Kingdoms Come and Kingdoms Go, opera chorus with lyrics by Streetwise Opera performers, 4' (2016)

The Attic, opera scene for tenor and mixed ensemble, 8’ (2016)



Turbines, symphony orchestra (in progress) (2018)

Three Miniatures, symphony orchestra, 4' (2017)

Definitions, soprano and symphony orchestra, 6’ (2016)

Federalizing Zoo, chamber orchestra, 5’ (2015)

To the Lighthouse, orchestra, 4’30’’ (2015)



Dust, mixed male chorus, 1'40" (2017)

1967 in the Red House, mixed male chorus with piano, 4’ (2017)

Speak Out, mixed chorus with piano, 8' (2017)

Fall, Leaves, Fall, female chorus with piano, 4’30’’ (2016)

Timbral Verses, double mixed chorus, 8’ (2014)



The Giant's Castle, large chamber ensemble, 2' (2017)

Federalizing Zoo, wind ensemble, 5' (2017)



Time and Travel Song Cycle, bass-baritone and guitar, 18’ (2016)

Fridge Poetry Song Cycle, soprano and piano, 10’ (2014)



The Pilgrims at Luke Copse, soprano and piano, 5' (2017)

The Windhover, tenor and piano / soprano, clarinet, harp and double bass, 5' (2016)

To Margot Heinemann, mezzo-soprano and piano, 4’30’’ (2015)

Four Sunflowers, mezzo-soprano and piano, 5’ (2015)



Antiphony, string quartet, 14' (2018)

Hymn for Edith, horn and piano, 3' (2017)

The Green Blade, oboe trio, 10’ (2015)

Dawn Horizon, brass quartet, 5’ (2015)



Five Miniatures, solo piano, 6' (2017)

Panorama, solo cello, 4’ (2015)

In the Beginning was the Word, solo piano, 3’ (2015)

Tanz, solo recorder, 2’30’’ (2014)

Dad, I Broke the Radio, solo piano, 5’ (2014)



CUE (in progress) (2018)

Citizens of Nowhere, 35'. Choreographed by Dane Hurst (2017)

Solo Matter, electronics, 13’. Choreographed by Carolyn Bolton with Mbulelo Ndabeni (2017)

Imaginary Situations, 45'. Created for 'your ten thousand eyes' choreographed by Julie Cunningham (2017)



The Impossible Piano series of miniatures for synthesized piano (2015-present)

Saxagon, alto saxophone and oboe with percussion and guitar. Collab with Miranda Rimmer (2016)

Levitating Frog, vocals and band. Collab Jack Ross, Anna Meredith, Miranda Rimmer, MONKOORA (2016)

Caedmon’s Hymn, a cappella folk song, 2' (2012)

Print Print | Sitemap
Website © Anna Appleby 2018. Images © Ann Wilkes, Claire Shovelton, Ian Watson, Pari Naderi, Guðbjörg Ágústsdóttir, Anna Appleby, Rachel Bywater.