Complete list of works


Turbines, symphony orchestra, 10' (2018)

Last Breaths, chamber orchestra, 1'30'' (2018)

Hypomania, symphony orchestra, 10' (2018)

Three Miniatures, symphony orchestra, 4' (2017)

Definitions, soprano and symphony orchestra, 6’ (2016)

Federalizing Zoo, chamber orchestra, 5’ (2015)

To the Lighthouse, orchestra, 4’30’’ (2015)



We Did Our Best, collaboration with librettist Ruth Mariner. Commissioned by Tête à Tête, 9' (2019)

The Manchester Peace Song Cycle: excerpt from 'Disabled' by Wilfred Owen. Dir. Feelgood Theatre, 2' (2018)

 Tell Me The Truth About Love, linking passages (23') as part of a production with Streetwise Opera (2018)

Citizens of Nowhere, chamber opera for two sops, mezzo, oboe/cor anglais, bassoon and cello, 35' (2017)

Kingdoms Come and Kingdoms Go, opera chorus with lyrics by Streetwise Opera performers, 4' (2016)

The Attic, opera scene for tenor and mixed ensemble, 8’ (2016)


Commission from Joss Arnott Dance Company (coming soon)

CUE, written for Ensemble Klang, 15'. Choreographed by Malgorzata Dzierzon (2018)

Citizens of Nowhere, 35'. Choreographed by Dane Hurst (2017)

Solo Matter, electronics, 13’. Choreographed by Carolyn Bolton with Mbulelo Ndabeni (2017)

Imaginary Situations, 45'. Created for 'your ten thousand eyes' by Julie Cunningham (2017)



For the Love of Ava, short film (2018)



Behold! Christmas carol for SATB chorus with organ or piano, 3'15'' (2018)

Dust, mixed male chorus, 2'10" (2017)

1967 in the Red House, mixed male chorus with piano, 4’ (2017)

Speak Out, SATB chorus with piano, 8' (2017)

Fall, Leaves, Fall, female chorus with piano, 4’30’’ (2016)

If I Have Not Love, double mixed chorus, 3’ (2014)



The Giant's Castle, large chamber ensemble, 2' (2017)

Federalizing Zoo, wind ensemble, 5' (2017)



Hrakningar, flute, viola and bassoon, 6'30'' (2018)

Antiphony, string quartet, 14' (2018)

CUE, two saxophones, trombone, guitar, piano, vibraphone, 15' (2018)

Hymn for Edith, horn and piano, 3' (2017)

The Green Blade, oboe trio, 10’ (2015)

Dawn Horizon, brass quartet, 5’ (2015)



Commission from Glyndebourne (coming soon)

Time and Travel Song Cycle, bass-baritone and guitar, 18’ (2016)

Fridge Poetry Song Cycle, soprano and piano, 10’ (2014)



The Manchester Peace Song Cycle: excerpt from 'Disabled' by Wilfred Owen. Solo soprano, 2' (2018)

A Musical Instrument, mezzo-soprano and piano, 4' (2018)

The Pilgrims at Luke Copse, soprano and piano, 5' (2017)

The Windhover, tenor and piano / soprano, clarinet, harp and double bass, 5' (2016)

To Margot Heinemann, mezzo-soprano and piano, 4’30’’ (2015)

Four Sunflowers, mezzo-soprano and piano, 5’ (2015)

Winds of Iona, a cappella folk song, 3' (2013)

Caedmon’s Hymn, a cappella folk song, 2' (2012)



Glitch, solo clarinet, 4' (2019)

Knocking, solo harp/clarsach, 2'30'' (2019)

 Five Miniatures, solo piano, 6' (2017)

Panorama, solo cello, 4’ (2015)

In the Beginning was the Word, solo piano, 3’ (2015)

Tanz, solo recorder, 2’30’’ (2014)

Dad, I Broke the Radio, solo piano, 5’ (2014)



The Impossible Piano series of miniatures for synthesized piano (2015-18)

Android Jenny series of electronic songs for a digital popstar (2018)

Saxagon, alto saxophone and oboe with percussion and guitar. Collab with Miranda Rimmer (2016)

Levitating Frog, vocals and band. Collab Jack Ross, Anna Meredith, Miranda Rimmer, MONKOORA (2016)

Print Print | Sitemap
Website © Anna Appleby 2018. Images © Ann Wilkes, Claire Shovelton, Ian Watson, Pari Naderi, Guðbjörg Ágústsdóttir, Anna Appleby, Rachel Bywater.